Contact us


April 10, 2020

Kentucky AP Broadcasters Announces Winners in 2019 Competition

The Kentucky Associated Press Broadcasters has announced the winners in its 2019 competition recognizing the best in broadcast journalism.

Links to winners in the professional and colleges contests are below.

KAPB would like to thank the Kentucky Broadcasters Association for its sponsorship of the KAPB contest. More than 630 entries were submitted this year, one of the highest levels of participation in recent years.

Awards will be mailed to respective stations and schools in the next few weeks.

Congratulations to all of the winners.

KAPB Board of Directors,

Henry Chu, President, News Director, WBKO-TV

Barry Fulmer, News Director, WDRB-TV

Steve Hensley, News Director, WYMT-TV

Paul Hitchcock, General Manager, Morehead State Public Radio

Rick Howlett, Broadcast Editor, WFPL-FM

Joe Jackson, News Director, WKYX-FM

Bradley Pfranger, Assistant Professor, Western Kentucky University

Scoobie Ryan, Interim Director, University of Kentucky School of Journalism and Media

Mike Spissinger, Chief Videographer, WPSD-TV

Jen Osburne, Assistant News Director, WLKY-TV

Robert Thomas, News Director, WKYT-TV

Leigh Wright, Assistant Professor, Murray State University

If you have questions please contact Becky Day ( at (209) 552-6541.


2019 Kentucky AP Broadcasters Professional Contest Winners

2019 Kentucky AP Broadcast College Contest Winners


2017 Kentucky AP Broadcasters Professional Contest Winners

2017 Kentucky AP Broadcasters College Contest Winners

2016 Kentucky AP Broadcasters Professional Contest Winners

2016 Kentucky AP Broadcasters College Contest Winners 


2019 Certificates

2018 Certificates

2017 Certificates

All contents © copyright 2019 Associated Press.
All rights reserved.